21 NCAC 63 .0403
RENEWAL APPLICATION AND FEES

(a)  To renew a certificate or license, a person must submit the following to the Board on or before the expiration of his or her certification or licensure:

(1)
all fees as required in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule; and

(2)
a Renewal Affidavit, as described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

(b)  Fees for renewal of certificates or licenses are as follows:

(1)
for Certified Social Workers (CSWs), the renewal fee is seventy dollars ($70.00).

(2)
for Certified Master Social Workers (CMSWs), the renewal fee is ninety dollars ($90.00).

(3)
for Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSWs), the renewal fee is one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00).

(4)
for Licensed Clinical Social Worker Associates (LCSWAs), the renewal fee is one hundred and forty dollars ($140.00).

(5)
for Certified Social Work Managers (CSWMs), the renewal fee is one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00).

(c)  Persons whose applications for renewal are received by the Board after the renewal date of their certificate or license, but no later than 60 days after the renewal date, shall pay a late renewal fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) in addition to any other applicable fees. Renewal fees are nonrefundable.

(d)  A Renewal Affidavit shall contain the following:

(1)
the person's printed name, signature, and date;

(2)
the person's contact information;

(3)
the last four digits of the person's social security number and license number;

(4)
whether the person's contact information has changed since the previous renewal;

(5)
whether the person is requesting a duplicate license;

(6)
a list of all continuing education hours taken since the last renewal application that provides the name of the course taken, the date on which the course was taken, the length of the course taken, and whether the course taken was distance learning or for ethics;

(7)
the person's affirmation or certification that:

(A)
he or she has engaged in at least 40 hours of continuing education activities, as described in 21 NCAC 63 .0401, in the preceding 24 months or in at least 30 hours of continuing education activities if the renewal term is less than 2 years;

(B)
he or she has engaged in at least four hours of continuing education focused on ethics related to social work practice and ethical decision making in the preceding certificate or license cycle;

(C)
his or her ability to perform his or her professional responsibilities is not impaired in any way or by the use of alcohol, prescription or non-prescription drugs, or other controlled substances;

(D)
he or she has not been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony crime since his or her last renewal or, if he or she has, an explanation of the conviction is provided, and that the person consents to a criminal background check by the Board;

(E)
he or she has reviewed and agree to comply with the Social Work Certification and Licensure Act and Title 21, Chapter 63 of the North Carolina Administrative Code;

(F)
he or she has not violated Section .0500 of this Chapter of the North Carolina Administrative Code;

(G)
he or she understands that renewal of his or her certification or license is subject to a Continuing Education audit and he or she agree to comply with an audit request from the Board;

(H)
the information in the Renewal Affidavit is accurate, that the Board may verify and investigate such information, and that any material omission or misrepresentation is grounds for the Board's refusal to renew a license or certification; and

(I)
he or she has read and understands the public notice statement on employee misclassification that is set forth in the Renewal Affidavit and has disclosed any investigations for employee misclassification, and its results, over the preceding 12-month period, as prescribed by G.S. 143-789.

History Note:
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-6.2; 90B-9(b); 90B-11;

Eff. August 1, 1987;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990;

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; August 1, 2012; January 1, 2009; March 1, 2006; July 1, 2000;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. September 19, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2021.
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